The Sluggard Within

I am sharing an incredible sermon by Rick Hodshire given at my church this past weekend. We are making our way through Proverbs and Proverbs challenges us to live a life of discipline and avoid the consequences of being a sluggard. We should be using our time intentionally and leaving the excuses behind.

I really needed this sermon. I’m trying to be disciplined and consistent in my writing and constantly battling the sluggard within. I have now involved my best friend in prayer and commissioned my early rising husband to literally make sure I’m standing upright and out of bed at 5:00 AM! He’s a brave man who is using his area of strength to help in my desires to be intentional. I prefer the sun to be positioned overhead when I wake up, but the morning is when I am most productive. I’m sleeping through and stealing time away from all that God is asking me to do.

Are you also battling your inner sluggard? This sermon has a lot of tips and truths that will guide you into God’s will for a purposeful life.

#wisewords

http://onecornerstone.org/messages/discipline/

About CCrawfordAuthor

I am an author, wife, mother, and believer in Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. We are so blessed to be serving such a great God!
This entry was posted in Being Wise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sluggard Within

  1. BelleUnruh says:

    I’ve asked God to remind me to take extra time to pray and read during the day. I’m retired, so I have more time than those who work. He does remind me. Sometimes it means stopping a computer game or reading a book, but I’m so glad he does it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s funny how sometimes the reasons I choose to not to be intentional seem so important until I feel that loss from going my own way. I just feel empty. If I start my day in His Word, it’s like a fresh drink of water. Why do we battle this? I think our enemy is pretty deft at making us believe the lie that we don’t have any time to make for God. I am right there with you!

      Like

  2. deshiloah says:

    I keep a journal and it helps keep me intentional. Sometimes I’m so busy I can’t think, then my writing sifts thru what’s important & what’s not so I can ‘reset’ re-align my activities. I’ve found if I don’t get the right rest time, I’m a mess, it sets my mental,, hormonal, etc clock off Blessings on your road!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! It definitely is a road and we are all on it. I learn so much from other’s like you who offer ideas. That is the best part about being on these intentional roads with other people. It’s easier in numbers!

      Like

Comments Welcomed!

